October 23, 2018

Video: SpaceX rocket lights engines in pre-flight test


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Video credit: Steven Young/Spaceflight Now

Passing a major pre-flight milestone ahead of a launch and landing planned early Sunday, a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket ignited its main engines Wednesday for a hold-down firing at Cape Canaveral.

The static fire test occurred at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT) on Cape Canaveral’s Complex 40 launch pad, with the rocket’s satellite payload attached.

The next step in launch preparations will be to return the Falcon 9 rocket to its horizontal assembly building for mating with the Telstar 19 VANTAGE communications satellite, a U.S.-built, Canadian-owned craft set to begin a 15-year mission beaming broadband services across the Americas and the Atlantic.

Liftoff is set for 1:50 a.m. EDT (0550 GMT) Sunday at the opening of a four-hour launch window. It will be SpaceX’s 13th launch of the year, and the second flight of the company’s upgraded Falcon 9 Block 5 vehicle.

Read our full story for details on the static fire test.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!