October 21, 2018

Photos: Falcon 9 rocket fires into orbit with Paz, Starlink satellites


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket launched Feb. 22 from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California with the Spanish Paz radar observation satellite and two prototypes for a planned broadband Internet network.

The 229-foot-tall (70-meter) rocket lifted off from Space Launch Complex 4-East at Vandenberg at 6:17 a.m. PST (9:17 a.m. EST; 1417 GMT) on Feb. 22.

The payloads aboard the two-stage commercial rocket, which flew with a reused first stage boost, were the Paz radar reconnaissance satellite for Madrid-based Hisdesat and two Starlink testbed satellites for SpaceX’s planned constellation to broadcast global Internet service from space.

The Falcon 9 rocket placed the satellites into orbit more than 310 miles (500 kilometers) above Earth.

These images show the Falcon 9’s blastoff from California’s Central Coast just before sunrise.

Credit: SpaceX
Credit: SpaceX
Credit: SpaceX
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: SpaceX
Credit: SpaceX
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: SpaceX

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!