December 9, 2022

Russian space chief dismissed; NASA gets deal for joint crews

July 15, 2022

Dmitry Rogozin, the bellicose director of the Russian space agency Roscosmos who has railed against NASA and its western space allies over sanctions imposed in the wake of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, is stepping down under orders from President Vladimir Putin. NASA also announced Friday it has finalized a no-funds-exchanged agreement with Roscosmos to allow Russian cosmonauts to launch to the International Space Station on U.S. crew vehicles and U.S. astronauts to fly on Russian Soyuz capsules.

SpaceX launches 25th Dragon resupply mission to space station

July 15, 2022

SpaceX launched a Dragon cargo ship toward the International Space Station in a fiery twilight departure Thursday from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, hauling a $118 million climate instrument, fresh food, experiments, and supplies for the lab’s seven-person crew.

Live coverage: SpaceX launches space station cargo mission

July 14, 2022

SpaceX’s 25th cargo resupply mission to the International Space Station is set for liftoff at 8:44 p.m. EDT Thursday (0044 GMT Friday) from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. A Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Dragon capsule toward the station with nearly three tons of cargo.

China launches Tianlian data relay satellite

July 13, 2022

China launched the eighth satellite for its Tianlian data relay network in geostationary orbit on a Long March 3B rocket Tuesday, adding capacity to a constellation linking mission controllers with the Chinese space station and other low-orbiting spacecraft.

Europe’s Vega-C launcher successful on inaugural flight

July 13, 2022

The excitement of Europe’s inaugural launch of its Vega-C rocket Wednesday was palpable at the launch site in French Guiana, following two technical holds that preceded the successful delivery of seven small satellites into orbit.

Live coverage: Upgraded Vega rocket launches on inaugural flight

July 13, 2022

Europe’s first Vega-C rocket launched at 9:13 a.m. EDT (1313 GMT) Wednesday from the Guiana Space Center in South America. The rocket debuted upgraded solid-fueled motors and a larger payload compartment to haul bigger satellites to space. The maiden Vega-C flight carried seven small spacecraft into orbit.

Live coverage: Rocket Lab launches NRO mission

July 13, 2022

Rocket Lab’s Electron launcher lifted off from New Zealand Wednesday with classified cargo for the National Reconnaissance Office, the first of two dedicated Rocket Lab flights for the NRO this month. Liftoff occurred at 2:30 a.m. EDT (0630 GMT).

1 2 3 4 5 6
Spaceflight Now