August 18, 2018

Video: Falcon 9 rocket ignites for hold-down test at Cape Canaveral


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket ignited its main engines at Cape Canaveral’s Complex 40 launch pad Thursday night, clearing a major hurdle before liftoff May 31 with the SES 12 communications satellite.

The Falcon 9’s nine Merlin 1D main engines ignited at 9:30 p.m. EDT Thursday (0130 GMT Friday) as clamps held the two-stage rocket firmly on the ground. A cloud of exhaust erupted from the base of the rocket before commands were issued to switch off the engines as planned.

The static fire test is a customary milestone in all SpaceX launch campaigns, and the next step ahead of next week’s launch will be the Falcon 9’s return to a nearby hangar for attachment of the SES 12 communications satellite.

Liftoff is scheduled for 12:29 a.m. EDT (0429 GMT) on Thursday, May 31.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!