December 14, 2018

Photos: Atlas 5 treks from hangar to launch pad with GOES-S weather satellite


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Rolling out on the eve of liftoff with the GOES-S weather satellite, a United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket journeyed 1,800 feet from its vertical assembly hangar to Cape Canaveral’s Complex 41 launch pad Wednesday.

Riding a 1.4-million-pound mobile launch platform, the Atlas 5 emerged from the Vertical Integration Facility around 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT) Wednesday for the trip to nearby Complex 41. Two “trackmobiles” pushed the Atlas 5 and its mobile table along dual rail tracks.

These photos show the Atlas 5’s journey to the pad, along with shots captured Wednesday evening showing the Atlas 5 at dusk.

Liftoff is scheduled for 5:02 p.m. EST (2202 GMT) Thursday at the opening of a two-hour launch window.

Read more about the launch in our Mission Status Center.

Credit: NASA/Ben Smegelsky
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: NASA/Ben Smegelsky
Credit: NASA/Ben Smegelsky
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: NASA/Ben Smegelsky
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance
Credit: United Launch Alliance

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!