September 23, 2018

Photos: Minotaur-C rocket lifts off from California’s Central Coast


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Orbital ATK’s Minotaur-C rocket delivered 10 satellites to orbit Oct. 31 after liftoff from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California, marking the solid-fueled rocket’s return to flight — with a new name and upgrades — after a six-year hiatus.

The four-stage rocket lifted off at 2:37 p.m. PDT (5:37 p.m. EDT: 2137 GMT) on Oct. 31 from pad 576E at Vandenberg, a military facility on the Pacific coast northwest of Los Angeles.

It carried 10 small commercial Earth-imaging satellites for Planet, a company based in San Francisco that now operates some 200 spacecraft in orbit.

Read our full story for details on the mission.

Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Gene Blevins/LA Daily News
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: U.S. Air Force photo by Senior Airman Ian Dudley
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Orbital ATK
Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Credit: Orbital ATK

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!