December 17, 2018

Video: H-2A rocket lifts off from Tanegashima


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Japan’s 35th H-2A rocket blasted off Saturday from the Tanegashima Space Center, flying into orbit in its most powerful configuration with a geostationary navigation satellite.

The 174-foot-tall (53-meter) rocket took off at 0529 GMT (1:29 a.m. EDT; 2:29 p.m. Japan Standard Time) with Michibiki 3, the third in a series of at least four Japanese navigation aids designed to improve GPS coverage over the Asia-Pacific.

Japanese school children recorded videos calling out times during the H-2A’s terminal countdown.

Read our full story for details on the mission.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!