November 12, 2018

Video: SpaceX conducts Falcon 9 static fire at dusk


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

SpaceX fueled its next Falcon 9 rocket at launch pad 39A and ignited the booster’s nine Merlin engines at sunset Thursday, passing a major step in the launch campaign leading up to liftoff of the Intelsat 35e communications satellite Sunday.

The rare evening hotfire test occurred at 8:30 p.m. EDT Thursday (0030 GMT Friday), with the Merlin 1D engines firing for around seven seconds while the two-stage rocket — without its satellite payload — was restrained by hold-down clamps at pad 39A.

The static fire came six days after SpaceX’s last launch from pad 39A, a record turnaround for the historic launch complex at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Liftoff with the Intelsat 35e satellite is scheduled for 7:36 p.m. EDT (2336 GMT) Sunday at the opening of a 58-minute launch window.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!