July 21, 2019

Public viewing suggestions for Friday’s Atlas 5 rocket launch


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Playalinda Beach is an ideal public viewing spot for Friday morning’s Atlas 5 rocket launch of the Navy’s MUOS 5 communications satellite. The location puts you less than five miles from the launch pad to feel the 2.5 million pounds of liftoff thrust!

Get directions here

Launch is scheduled for 10:30 a.m. EDT (1430 GMT). There is a 44-minute launch opportunity running until 11:14 a.m. EDT (1514 GMT) to ensure the spacecraft is placed into the desired orbit.

Weather forecasters predict an 80 percent chance of favorable conditions, with summertime thunderstorms not firing up until after the launch window closes.

Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now
Photo from Playalinda Beach of Atlas launching MUOS 2. Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now

See earlier MUOS 5 coverage.

Our Atlas archive.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!