November 12, 2019

Photos: Falcon 9 and Crew Dragon arrive at pad 39A for launch


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

SpaceX rolled the first Crew Dragon spacecraft out to a Florida launch pad Thursday for final preparations ahead of a test flight to the International Space Station.

The commercial crew capsule will ride a 215-foot-tall (65-meter) Falcon 9 rocket into orbit from NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 2:49 a.m. EST (0749 GMT) Saturday, heading for a docking with the space station early Sunday, assuming an on-time liftoff.

Rollout began before 10 a.m. EST (1500 GMT), when the Falcon 9 emerged on its strongback carrier from SpaceX’s hangar for the quarter-mile journey up the ramp to pad 39A. Around 6 p.m. EST (2300 GMT), hydraulics hoisted the rocket vertical.

Follow our live coverage of the flight in our Mission Status Center.

Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: NASA/Joel Kowsky
Credit: SpaceX
Credit: Stephen Clark/Spaceflight Now

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!