August 20, 2018

Video: Dragon cargo craft released from International Space Station


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.

Ground controllers sent commands Saturday for the International Space Station’s Canadian-built robotic arm to release a SpaceX Dragon cargo capsule, ending the ship’s nearly four-week stay at the orbiting research complex.

The unpiloted Dragon spacecraft was released from the robot arm at 4:58 a.m. EST (0958 GMT) Saturday, and it parachuted to a splashdown in the Pacific Ocean west of Baja California at 10:37 a.m. EST (1537 GMT) with nearly 4,100 pounds of cargo on-board.

Read our full story for details on the mission.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!