September 23, 2021

Take a sneak peek at Pluto


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Photo credit: NASA/JHUAPL/SWRI
Photo credit: NASA/JHUAPL/SWRI

Pluto’s salmon-colored surface shines in an incredible view taken Monday as New Horizons barreled toward the icy outpost for Tuesday’s historic close-up flyby.

Scientists early Tuesday released a sneak peek of Pluto taken by New Horizons around 4 p.m. EDT (2000 GMT) Monday at a range of 476,000 miles (766,000 kilometers), about 16 hours before closest approach.

The photo shows a prominent heart-shaped bright feature spinning into view. New Horizons was on track to pass less than 7,800 miles over this region a few seconds before 7:50 a.m. EDT (1150 GMT) after a nine-year voyage from Earth.

Email the author.

Follow Stephen Clark on Twitter: @StephenClark1.


If you would like to see more articles like this please support our coverage of the space program by becoming a Spaceflight Now Member. If everyone who enjoys our website helps fund it, we can expand and improve our coverage further.
Spaceflight Now