Spaceflight Now

Taurus/Glory launch timeline
Posted: February 22, 2011

Bookmark and Share

T+00:00 Liftoff
The first stage Castor 120 solid rocket motor is ignited and the Taurus rocket launches from pad 576E at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.
T+01:25 Staging
After burning its solid-fuel propellant, the first stage is separated to fall into the Pacific Ocean. At the same time, the Orion 50SXLG solid rocket motor second stage is ignited.
T+02:50 Second stage jettison
Having completed its firing at T+plus 2:45, the second stage separates from the rest of the Taurus rocket. The spent stage falls into the Pacific Ocean.
T+02:52 Third stage ignition
The Orion 50XL solid rocket motor third stage ignites to continue the climb to orbit.
T+02:58 Jettison payload fairing
The payload fairing nose cone that protected the spacecraft during the atmospheric ascent opens like a clam shell and falls away from the rocket.
T+04:11 Third stage burnout
The Taurus rocket's third stage ends its burn after consuming all the solid-fuel propellant. A ballistic coast period now begins as the rocket heads toward the apogee of its final orbit.
T+05:15 Third stage separation
The spent third stage is separated from the Taurus rocket's upper stage in preparation for the final push to orbit.
T+09:58 Fourth stage ignition
The Taurus rocket's upper stage, an Orion 38 solid rocket motor to complete the powered flight for this launch, basically raising the perigee to achieve a circular orbit.
T+11:10 Fourth stage burnout
The fourth stage completes its firing after consuming all of its solid-fuel propellant, injecting the stage and attached payloads into the desired orbit around Earth.
T+13:05 Glory separation
NASA's Glory satellite is released into space from the rocket's upper stage to begin its climate-researching mission.
T+13:15 CubeSat separation
The three tiny cubesats are ejected from the special deployer box attached to the rocket's upper stage, completing the ninth flight of Taurus.

Data source: NASA.