A regularly updated listing of planned orbital missions from spaceports around the globe. Dates and times are given in Greenwich Mean Time. “NET” stands for no earlier than. “TBD” means to be determined. Recent updates appear in red type.

See our Launch Log for a listing of completed space missions since 2004.

May 25 Electron • ‘Ready, Aim, Prefire’
Launch time: Window 7:15-8:15 p.m. NZST (3:15-4:15 a.m. EDT, 0715-0815 UTC)
Launch site: LC-1 Pad B, Mahia, New Zealand

A Rocket Lab Electron rocket will launch the first of two back-to-back operations for NASA’s Polar Radiant Energy in the Far-InfraRed Experiment (PREFIRE) mission. The PREFIRE-1 satellite will deploy to a 525 km circular Earth orbit at a 97.5° inclination, which will be followed by PREFIRE-2 in about three weeks. Delayed from May 22 due to weather.

Updated: May 21

May 27 Falcon 9 • Starlink 6-60
Launch time: 7:30 a.m. EDT (1130 UTC)
Launch site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch another batch of 23 Starlink V2 Mini satellites to low Earth orbit. A little more than eight minutes after liftoff, the first stage booster will touch down on the droneship, ‘A Shortfall of Gravitas,’ in the Atlantic Ocean.

Updated: May 24

May 28 Falcon 9 • EarthCARE
Launch time: 3:20 p.m. PDT (6:20 p.m. EDT, 2220 UTC)
Launch site: SLC-4E, Vandenberg Space Force Base, California

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Earth Cloud Aerosol and Radiation Explorer (EarthCARE) satellite to a sun-synchronous polar orbit at 393.14 km altitude and an inclination of 97.05°. This is principally a European Space Agency (ESA) mission, but it was developed with cooperation with the Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA). It includes two passive instruments that observe the atmosphere and two active instruments. The spacecraft has a designed lifetime of three years, which includes a six-month commissioning phase.

Updated: May 17

May 30 Soyuz • Progress MS-27 / 88P
Launch time: 5:43 a.m. EDT (0943 UTC, 12:43 p.m. MSK)
Launch site: Baikonur Cosmodrome, Kazakhstan

A Russian Soyuz-2.1a rocket will launch the Progress MS-27 spacecraft to the International Space Station. This will be the 88th Progress vehicle to head up to the orbiting outpost. The spacecraft is scheduled to dock with the ISS at 7:53 a.m. EDT on June 1.

Updated: May 17

TBD Eris • TestFlight1
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: Pad 1, Bowen Orbital Spaceport

Gilmour Space in Australia is preparing to launch the inaugural flight of its Eris Block 1 rocket. The three-stage launch vehicle is 25 m (82 ft) tall and is equipped with 1.5 m (4.9 ft) diameter payload fairings. The rocket is designed to send up to 305 kg up to low Earth orbit. This first mission, called “TestFlight1,” does not appear to have a payload on board. Delayed from May 4 due to a lack of launch permit.

Updated: April 23

NET June 1 Atlas 5 • CST-100 Starliner Crew Flight Test
Launch time: 12:25 p.m. EDT (1625 UTC)
Launch site: SLC-41, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 rocket, designated AV-085, will launch Boeing’s CST-100 Starliner spacecraft on its first mission with astronauts, known as the Crew Test Flight, to the International Space Station. The capsule will dock with the space station, then return to Earth to landing in the Western United States. NASA astronauts Butch Wilmore and Suni Williams will fly on the mission. The rocket will fly in a vehicle configuration with two solid rocket boosters and a dual-engine Centaur upper stage. Delayed from August and 1st Quarter of 2020. Delayed from mid-2020 after Boeing decision to refly the Orbital Flight Test. Delayed from early 2021, June 2021, and late 2021. Delayed from late 2022 to implement fixes on the Starliner spacecraft after OFT-2. Delayed from April 2023, July 2023, April 2024, May 6, May 10, May 17, May 21 and May 25. Launch on hold for evaluation of small helium leak in Starliner propulsion system.

Updated: May 23

NET June 5 Starship • Flight 4
Launch time: Window opens 7 a.m. CDT (8 a.m. EDT, 1200 UTC)
Launch site: Starbase, Boca Chica Beach, Texas

SpaceX will conduct a fourth flight test of its fully integrated Starship rocket, a combination of the Ship upper stage and the Super Heavy Booster. About seven minutes after liftoff, the SHB will complete its landing burn and splashdown in the Gulf of Mexico. The Ship upper stage will continue on until it performs a landing flip a little more than an hour into flight with a landing in the Indian Ocean shortly thereafter.

Updated: May 24

NET June Soyuz • Kondor-FKA 2
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: Pad 1S, Vostochny Cosmodrome

A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the Kondor-Experimental SAR Spacecraft FKA 2 (Kondor-FKA 2) satellite to sun-synchronous orbit at 510 km altitude and an inclination of 97.4°. The mission, with a roughly five-year live span, is being launched on behalf of NPO Mashinostroyeniya.

Updated: May 17

June 24 Long March 2C • SVOM
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: Xichang Satellite Launch Center, People's Republic of China

A Chinese Long March 2C rocket will launch the Space-based multi-band astronomical Variable Objects Monitor (SVOM) spacecraft. The satellite is a dual Franco-Chinese mission, which is “dedicated to the study of the most distant explosions of stars, the gamma-ray bursts.”  There are four main instruments on board, two of which are French and two which are Chinese. The spacecraft will be launched to a 625-km Earth orbit and will operate for at least three years with an option to extend for another two years beyond that. Delayed from late 2023.

Updated: January 28

June 25 Falcon Heavy • GOES U
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: LC-39A, Kennedy Space Center, Florida

A SpaceX Falcon Heavy will launch the fourth and final satellite of the next-generation series of geostationary weather satellites for NASA and NOAA. GOES-U will orbit 22,300 miles above the equator to monitor weather conditions across the United States. The satellite will be renamed GOES-19 once it reaches its operational orbit. Delayed from April 30 and May.

Updated: March 26

NET Summer Falcon 9 • Polaris Dawn
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch a Crew Dragon spacecraft. The Polaris Dawn mission will be commanded by billionaire Jared Isaacman, making his second trip to space. He will be joined on the all-private mission by pilot Scott “Kidd” Poteet, and SpaceX employees Sarah Gillis and Anna Menon. The Crew Dragon will return to a splashdown at sea. Delayed from November and December 2022, March 2023 and April 2024.

Updated: May 17

Second Quarter Vulcan Centaur • Dream Chaser 1
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: SLC-41, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A United Launch Alliance Vulcan Centaur rocket will launch on its second demonstration flight with Sierra Space’s Dream Chaser cargo vehicle for the International Space Station. The Dream Chaser is a lifting body resupply spacecraft that will launch on top of a rocket and land on a runway. This will be the Dream Chaser’s first flight to space. The Vulcan Centaur rocket will fly in the VC4L configuration with four GEM-63XL solid rocket boosters, a long-length payload fairing, and two RL10 engines on the Centaur upper stage. Delayed from August 2022, December 2023, January 2024 and April 2024.

Updated: March 26

Summer 2024 Falcon 9 • ASBM
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: SLC-4E, Vandenberg Space Force Base, California

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Arctic Satellite Broadband Mission, consisting of two satellites owned by Space Norway. The Falcon 9 will launch the two Northrop Grumman-built satellites into a highly elliptical orbit that lingers over the Arctic region. The satellites carry communications payloads for the Norwegian Ministry of Defense, the U.S. Space Force, and Inmarsat.

Updated: December 13

June 29/30 H3 • DAICHI-4
Launch time: 12:06:42 - 12:19:34 p.m. JST (11:06:42 - 11:19:34 p.m. EDT, 0306:42-0319:34 UTC)
Launch site: Yoshinobu Launch Complex at the JAXA Tanegashima Space Center

The Japanese Exploration Aerospace Agency (JAXA) will launch the third flight of its H3 Launch Vehicle. The mission, H3 F3: Flight No. 3, will launch the Advanced Land Observing Satellite-4 “DAICHI-4” (ALOS-4). This Earth observation satellite is manufactured by Mitsubishi Electric Corporation will use a phased array type L-band synthetic aperture radar (PALSAR-3) and is designed to operate for seven years or orbit.

Updated: April 26

NET July 8 Falcon 9 • Türksat 6A
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the Türksat 6A communications satellite for the Turkish operator Türksat. Türksat 6A is the first geostationary communications satellite to be built in Turkey, with development led by TÜBİTAK Space Technologies Research Institute and Turkish Aerospace Industries. Delayed from 2nd Quarter 2023 and March 2024.

Updated: March 25

3rd Quarter Falcon 9 • BlueBird Block 1
Launch time: TBD
Launch site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral Space Force Station, Florida

A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch five 700-square-foot Block 1 BlueBird satellites on behalf of its customer, AST SpaceMobile, Inc.

Updated: April 02