Bookmark and Share

Orbiter: Atlantis
Mission: STS-135
Payload: Raffaello
Launch: July 8, 2011
Time: 11:29 a.m. EDT
Site: Pad 39A, Kennedy Space Center
Landing: July 21 @ approx. 5:57 a.m. EDT
Site: KSC's Shuttle Landing Facility
NASA TV (rev. 0)

Launch Windows

Countdown Timeline

Master Flight Plan

SRB Case History

Mission Video Vault

High Definition Video

STS-135 Stories

Shuttle Archive

Cdr Chris Ferguson

Pilot Doug Hurley

MS 1 Sandy Magnus

MS 2 Rex Walheim

Mission Status Center

By Justin Ray

Live coverage of space shuttle Atlantis' STS-135 mission to the International Space Station. Text updates will appear automatically; there is no need to reload the page. Follow us on Twitter.

TUESDAY, JULY 12, 2011
Read our full story that wraps up today's activities in space.
1957 GMT (3:57 p.m. EDT)
And so the final spacewalk in the space shuttle era is history.
1956 GMT (3:56 p.m. EDT)
To recap, International Space Station residents Mike Fossum and Ron Garan stepped outside today to lend helping hands to the space shuttle mission, packing a failed ammonia coolant pump into Atlantis' payload bay for return to Earth and unloading a satellite servicing demonstrator carried to orbit aboard the visiting spaceplane. The spacewalkers also deployed a new materials science experiment, fixed a snagged wire in one of the station's robot arm operating bases and wrapped a vacant docking port with a thermal cover. This was the lone EVA planned for Atlantis' mission.
1955 GMT (3:55 p.m. EDT)
Today marked the 160th spacewalk devoted to International Space Station assembly and maintenance since construction began in 1998, the ninth so far this year. U.S., Russian, European, Japanese and Canadian astronauts have logged 1,009 hours and 8 minutes of EVA time at the station.
1954 GMT (3:54 p.m. EDT)
This was the seventh EVA in the career of Mike Fossum and fourth for Ron Garan. Mike has accumulated 48 hours and 32 minutes of spacewalking time his previous excursions, which also included STS-121 and STS-124 space shuttle missions. Ron's total now stands at 27 hours and 3 minutes after this flight and the earlier STS-124.
1953 GMT (3:53 p.m. EDT)
EVA ENDS. Repressurization of the Quest airlock module began at 3:53 p.m. EDT, marking the official end of today's spacewalk by Mike Fossum and Ron Garan. The EVA lasted 6 hours and 31 minutes.
1950 GMT (3:50 p.m. EDT)
The airlock hatch has been closed and locked. Standing by for repressurization.
1935 GMT (3:35 p.m. EDT)
Mike and Ron are ingressing the airlock module.
1915 GMT (3:15 p.m. EDT)
Now back at the airlock, the spacewalkers are going through tool inventories and cleaning up equipment after this successful outing.
1858 GMT (2:58 p.m. EDT)
The International Space Station has three Pressurized Mating Adapters that are cone-shaped thresholds. PMA No. 1 forms the interface between the Zarya and Unity modules and PMA No. 2 is the docking port for visiting space shuttles. But PMA No. 3 isn't in use, so this blanketing will shield its front hatchway, valves and seals from the harsh sunlight it receives from the outboard facing side of the station.
1832 GMT (2:32 p.m. EDT)
The last task for the spacewalkers is wrapping a protective thermal cover on the Pressurized Mating Adapter No. 3 that resides on the outboard end of the Tranquility module.
1822 GMT (2:22 p.m. EDT)
Now passing five hours in the spacewalk.
1817 GMT (2:17 p.m. EDT)
Success for Mike and his quick fix to the power and data grapple fixture that was installed at the Zarya module in May. A picture of that snagged grounding wire can be seen here.
1806 GMT (2:06 p.m. EDT)
Mike has traveled across the border from the U.S. portion of the International Space Station to the Russian segment for some troubleshooting on the robotic arm operating base that was installed on the last shuttle mission. Photos have revealed that a ground wire is protruding from the grapple fixture, so the spacewalker is going to try and tuck all that back into the proper place.
1747 GMT (1:47 p.m. EDT)
Installation of this Optical Reflector Materials Experiment on the International Space Station is complete. It becomes part of the MISSE 8, a suit-case like payload launched on Endeavour's mission in May. These sorts of science tests expose items to the space environment to see how the materials respond.
1725 GMT (1:25 p.m. EDT)
Ron has arrived at the Express Logistics Carrier No. 2 to place a science experiment out there. A picture of this experiment can be seen here.
1710 GMT (1:10 p.m. EDT)
Mike is working to clean up the International Space Station's robot arm, removing the foot platform and switch out some tools.
1650 GMT (12:50 p.m. EDT)
Now moving into the second-half of the EVA, Ron is returning to the airlock to drop off some tool bags and pick up a science experiment he's going to install onto a space station materials exposure payload.
1637 GMT (12:37 p.m. EDT)
Robotic Refueling Mission payload has been delivered to the International Space Station. The device will use the station's Dextre robot to test tools and techniques like those needed for servicing satellites. It's a proof-of-concept experiment before a free-flying system is built that would travel to spacecraft and perform maintenance on them. RRM will demonstrate how well robots can refuel satellites, particularly spacecraft that weren't originally designed to be serviced in orbit and feature difficult plumbing caps and plugs, among other tests.
1630 GMT (12:30 p.m. EDT)
Ron is climbing out of Atlantis' payload bay now. He's the final spacewalking astronaut to ever work in the open expanse of a shuttle orbiter's cargo hold.
1625 GMT (12:25 p.m. EDT)
Mike is approaching Dextre now. This RRM payload will be mounted onto the handyman robot for the time being. Sometime in the future, the payload will be deployed on one of the station's spare parts pallets.
1620 GMT (12:20 p.m. EDT)
So after retrieving the robotic refueling experiment from the underside of that bridge-like structure in Atlantis' payload bay where the pump module was installed, the spacewalkers are in the process of moving the package up the International Space Station for future demonstrations.
1615 GMT (12:15 p.m. EDT)
You can download a PDF fact sheet Robotic Refueling Mission.
1606 GMT (12:06 p.m. EDT)
Mike has the Robotic Refueling Mission payload is his hands now, ready for the station's arm to swing him up to the Destiny laboratory where the Dextre robot is anchored.
1545 GMT (11:45 a.m. EDT)
With the pump relocation task now finished, the spacewalkers are going to swap roles for the Robotic Refueling Mission transfer chore. Ron will exit the robot arm's foot platform and become the free-floating astronaut while Mike ingresses the arm to do the hand-carrying of the next payload.
1534 GMT (11:34 a.m. EDT)
At 11:34 a.m. EDT, the ammonia coolant pump is declared installed in Atlantis. The final bolting has occurred and pull testing completed. And so a whole year after its breakdown, the failed pump module has been loaded in Atlantis' payload bay to ride back to Earth for analysis.
1528 GMT (11:28 a.m. EDT)
The astronauts are working together in the rear of space shuttle Atlantis' payload bay where they are seating the module onto the carrier structure. Once the pump is aligned, Ron will use his power tool to engage the primary bolt the secure the module in place.
1522 GMT (11:22 a.m. EDT)
Now passing the two-hour mark of today's EVA.
1515 GMT (11:15 a.m. EDT)
Mike has crawled down to the shuttle to help Ron install the pump.
1507 GMT (11:07 a.m. EDT)
Ron is getting flipped upside down to the correct orientation for inserting the module into the payload bay.
1500 GMT (11:00 a.m. EDT)
Perched on the end of the International Space Station's robotic arm, Expedition 28 astronaut Ron Garan is taking a spectacular trip down to the space shuttle Atlantis payload bay.
1455 GMT (10:55 a.m. EDT)
Ron has yawed the pump 90 degrees and then rolled it 180 degrees into a better position for carrying down to the shuttle.
1450 GMT (10:50 a.m. EDT)
This failed pump originally resided in the International Space Station's Starboard 1 truss -- a girder that is part of the outpost's backbone structure. The coolant pump was equipment launched within the truss on the STS-112 shuttle mission in October 2002 and then fully activated during STS-116 in December 2006. But it stopped working on July 31 and was replaced with a spare last August. It was temporarily stashed on External Stowage Platform No. 2 to await this shuttle mission.
1435 GMT (10:35 a.m. EDT)
Ron has this 780-pound ammonia pump module in his hands, having removing it from the External Stowage Platform No. 2, as the robotic arm flies him away from the space station.
1430 GMT (10:30 a.m. EDT)
The primary bolt is being released to free the pump from the storage container.
1425 GMT (10:25 a.m. EDT)
The station's robotic arm is under the controls of Atlantis astronauts Doug Hurley and Sandy Magnus. They are swinging arm passenger Ron Garan toward the failed pump module to grab it and hand-carry it down to the storage enclosure.
1420 GMT (10:20 a.m. EDT)
Ron has set up the foot platform on the robot arm and ingressed it. The arm will maneuver the astronaut around to pick up the failed pump and insert the boxy item on the cross-bay carrier bridge in Atlantis' payload bay for landing.
1410 GMT (10:10 a.m. EDT)
The pump that's today being relocated from a protective enclosure on the External Stowage Platform No. 2 to the space shuttle's payload bay experienced some sort of electrical short on July 31, 2010, knocking out half of the space station's thermal cooling system. It was replaced during a series of three spacewalks performed last August by the Expedition 24 resident crew using one of four spares prepositioned aboard the station. NASA wants to get this pump back on the ground for engineers to figure out what caused the malfunction.
1355 GMT (9:55 a.m. EDT)
The spacewalkers have split up and have gone to separate tasks. Ron is working with the space station's robotic arm to attach a foot platform for him to stand upon during the upcoming pump module relocation. Mike is getting some backup tools ready to use on the pump.
1338 GMT (9:38 a.m. EDT)
Both spacewalkers have emerged from the airlock. This is Mike's seventh EVA. He did three during the STS-121 shuttle flight and three more during STS-124 for a total spacewalking time of 42 hours and 1 minute. Ron also did three on STS-124 for 20 hours and 32 minutes.

"Ronny, you ready to rock and roll?" Fossum asked before floating out of the airlock.

"Ready to rock and roll," Garan replied.

"Let's go, buddy."
1330 GMT (9:30 a.m. EDT)
The EVA got underway 38 minutes behind schedule. Although no problems have been encountered this morning, activities simply ran a bit late.
1322 GMT (9:22 a.m. EDT)
EVA BEGINS. The spacewalkers switched their suits to internal battery power at 9:22 a.m. EDT, marking the official start time for today's EVA by Mike Fossum and Ron Garan. This is the one and only spacewalk planned during Atlantis' final mission at the International Space Station.
1321 GMT (9:21 a.m. EDT)
The depressurization has been completed and the Quest airlock's outer hatch leading to space is now open.
1301 GMT (9:01 a.m. EDT)
Depressurization is pausing at 5.0 psi for a planned leak check.
1251 GMT (8:51 a.m. EDT)
Airlock depressurization has begun in advance of today's EVA.
1247 GMT (8:47 a.m. EDT)
Mike and Ron have moved into the section of the airlock that will be depressurized shortly. And the inner hatch has been closed.
1225 GMT (8:25 a.m. EDT)
Final steps in the suitup process are being completed now. The spacewalkers are being outfitted with the SAFER backpacks that would enable an untethered astronaut to fly back to the station.
1111 GMT (7:11 a.m. EDT)
Mission Control projects the crew is running about 30 minutes behind the timeline.
1046 GMT (6:46 a.m. EDT)
Their helmets are on and suit leak checks are underway.
1016 GMT (6:16 a.m. EDT)
Mike and Ron have climbed into their spacesuits as preparations continue for today's spacewalk.
0956 GMT (5:56 a.m. EDT)
The spacewalkers have finished an hour-long session of breathing pure oxygen with masks on. Now they are performing communications and data checks with their suits.
0950 GMT (5:50 a.m. EDT)
The latest version of the NASA Television schedule (Rev. E) can be downloaded here.
0920 GMT (5:20 a.m. EDT)
Space station astronauts Michael Fossum and Ronald Garan are gearing up for a planned six-and-a-half-hour spacewalk to move a failed ammonia coolant pump from the lab complex to the shuttle Atlantis for return to Earth. They also plan to install a robotic refueling demonstration kit and a materials science space exposure experiment on the station and carry out a few get-ahead tasks.

Read our full story.
0701 GMT (3:01 a.m. EDT)
The astronauts just woke up to begin Flight Day 5, which is spacewalk day for the Atlantis mission. But it won't be space shuttle astronauts going outside today. International Space Station residents Ron Garan and Mike Fossum will be doing the EVA to move a failed ammonia cooling pump from the outpost to the shuttle payload bay, relocate an experimental satellite refueling device up to the Dextre robot and some other maintenance chores. The EVA is scheduled to begin around 8:45 a.m. EDT.

Read our earlier status center coverage.

Coverage sponsored by

BoeingLockheed Martin
Space models