Spaceflight Now Home





The Mission




Rocket: Falcon 9
Payload: Dragon (CRS 2)
Launch Date: March 1, 2013
Launch Time: 10:10 a.m. EST (1510 GMT)
ISS Grapple: March 3 @ 1031 GMT
ISS Departure: March 26, 2013 @ 1056 GMT
Splashdown: March 26, 2013 @ 1634 GMT
Launch Site: SLC-40, Cape Canaveral, Florida
Landing Site: Pacific Ocean

Mission Status Center

Return timeline

Launch opportunities

Rendezvous diagram

Countdown timeline

Launch timeline

Dragon launch manifest

Dragon return manifest

Dragon background info

Falcon 9 background info

Falcon archive






Dragon return timeline
SPACEFLIGHT NOW
Posted: March 26, 2013

0805 GMT (4:05 a.m. EDT) Unberthing
The robotic arm removes the Dragon spacecraft from a berthing port on the space station's Harmony module.
1056 GMT (6:56 a.m. EDT) Release
After maneuvering the Dragon to a point between 30 feet and and 40 feet beneath the space station, the robot arm releases the spacecraft.
1057 GMT (6:57 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 1
Dragon's thrusters fire for the first of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1059 GMT (6:59 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 2
Dragon's thrusters fire for the second of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1105 GMT (7:05 a.m. EDT) Yaw Maneuver
The Dragon spacecraft will complete a 180-degree yaw maneuver.
1106 GMT (7:06 a.m. EDT) Departure Burn 3
Dragon's thrusters fire for the third of three burns to depart the vicinity of the space station.
1425 GMT (10:25 a.m. EDT) Close GNC bay door
The door to Dragon's navigation bay will be closed and latched for re-entry.
1542 GMT (11:42 a.m. EDT) Begin Deorbit Burn
Dragon's Draco thrusters ignite for an approximately 10-minute deorbit burn to begin the journey back to Earth.
1555 GMT (11:55 a.m. EDT) Trunk Jettison
The unpressurized trunk section of the Dragon spacecraft separates. The trunk is designed to burn up on re-entry, while the pressurized capsule returns to Earth intact.
1625 GMT (12:25 p.m. EDT) Deploy Drogue Parachutes
Dual drogue parachutes deploy to stabilize the spacecraft at an altitude of 45,000 feet.
1626 GMT (12:26 p.m. EDT) Deploy Main Parachutes
Three 116-foot-diameter main parachutes deploy at an altitude of 10,000 feet to slow Dragon's descent to about 11 mph.
1634 GMT (12:34 p.m. EDT) Splashdown
Dragon splashes down in the Pacific Ocean about 246 miles west of Baja California.

Data source: NASA

Final Shuttle Mission Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

The crew emblem for the final space shuttle mission is now available in our store. Get this piece of history!
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

STS-134 Patch

Free shipping to U.S. addresses!

The final planned flight of space shuttle Endeavour is symbolized in the official embroidered crew patch for STS-134. Available in our store!
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Ares 1-X Patch
The official embroidered patch for the Ares 1-X rocket test flight, is available for purchase.
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Apollo Collage
This beautiful one piece set features the Apollo program emblem surrounded by the individual mission logos.
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE

Project Orion
The Orion crew exploration vehicle is NASA's first new human spacecraft developed since the space shuttle a quarter-century earlier. The capsule is one of the key elements of returning astronauts to the Moon.
 U.S. STORE


Fallen Heroes Patch Collection
The official patches from Apollo 1, the shuttle Challenger and Columbia crews are available in the store.
 U.S. STORE
 WORLDWIDE STORE
MISSION STATUS CENTER

INDEX | PLUS | NEWS ARCHIVE | LAUNCH SCHEDULE
ASTRONOMY NOW | STORE

ADVERTISE

© 2014 Spaceflight Now Inc.